Crazy is…

Planting peppers with a headlamp on at 9:30 p.m. just to get ’em in the ground!

So far I’ve managed to get planted: Red and yellow onions, broccoli, brussels sprouts, sugar snap peas, snow peas, green peas, purple podded pole beans, Kentucky Wonder pole beans, a gourmet mix of green and yellow bush beans, Swiss chard (twice!), spinach, an Italian mesclun lettuce mix, sweet potatoes, California Wonder bell peppers and Quadrato D’asti Rosso bell peppers.

Still need to plant: Anaheim pepper, jalapenos, cayenne peppers, roma tomatoes, Beefmaster tomatoes, Mortgage Lifter tomatoes, sweet 100 cherries, yellow cherries, Paul Robeson purple tomatoes, cucumbers, zucchini, Orangelo watermelon, a variety of fall squash, a variety of summer squash (scallop squash) canteloupe, basil, sage, rosemary, thyme and beets. It may be too late for the beets, but I’ll plant a few and see what happens. If it doesn’t do well, it will go in the ground again closer to fall along with turnips, garlic and more spinach, swiss chard, lettuces and broccoli.

I feel the summer coming upon me FAST and there just doesn’t seem to be enough time between working, school, stuff around the farm that needs done, spending time with my kid and riding the horses to get it all done!

Crazy, I tell ya, crazy! Crazy is as crazy does I suppose. I WILL get this garden done within the next two weeks, even if I have to plant by the pale moonlight.

In other news we’ve lost three meat birds over three consecutive nights. We believe the culprit may be a raccoon who has figured out how to open the little door from the coop to the chicken yard. It has swollen over time and doesn’t always want to close all the way so it can’t be locked any more, making it pretty easy for a resourceful (or determined) ‘coon to just shove it open and have his pick of the flock. The Man is hopefully working on a solution to get that fixed today so we don’t lose any more meat birds.

5 thoughts on “Crazy is…

  1. You are my garden planting shero! I’ve got a few seed in the dirt, but they aren’t looking pretty and well, I’m occupied elsewhere. Hoping to get this gardening thing down one of these days.

    So sorry about your chickens. There is nothing worse than losing one or more of your charges. Hoping the Man gets that door fixed for you soon.

  2. My time is so limited right now, and spring planting season is HERE that sometimes, my only option is to plant at unusual times. Not my favorite way to plant, but, there is also a lot of lore that say planting at night during certain moon phases can increase your crop productivity…I guess we’ll see if it holds true for the night-planted peppers!

Leave a Reply

